Pork is everywhere… even in Mrs Roddick’s lotions jars ?

I was watching a documentary film on telly when, once again, I got taken for a ride. Definitely tied to my sofa, unable to switch from channel to channel.

No wonder why, pork is everywhere, they say. Seems sooo right, I’d learn… Skipping pork meat sold packed in plastic film and sold in supermarkets or those big chunks still to be cut and weighed at market stalls.

Found touching the little reminder on ham’s role as one of our first solid foods as toddlers. Also as the fave of adults eand busy housewives.

By the way, this glazing film found on our capsules is pork jelly, most of times.

Let’s leave the food and pharamaceutical sections to embrace the cosmetics world.

My last The Body Shop product: Kapha balm (with its exfoliating cream jar). The Body Shop doesn’t do Mada, gotta go to SA for shopping spree.

Lipstick, which I used to think as mayonnaise-based [At least, that was a marketing teacher explained to me, as a freshman sudent. Lipstick was his answer to “How to sell mayo sauce at higher pricing ?”, “By weaving and selling a dream, lipstick” ]. The dream is beauty and glamour women would find in lipstick advertized in our glossies, year long.

Aaaah! dear lipstick economy… I do think it has been always in the background, crisis or not. She’d be named “dream economy”,or maybe “lust economy”, or… simply “economy”. I’m not the one to explain that dreams, lust are to trigger purchase and consumption.

A more expensive mayo sauce … OK… albeit olive oil (or another vegetal oil) is replaced by pork fat. Besides, wondering whether applying lipstick wouldn’t hinder a fat-poor diet. Who knows…😉

The case of moisturizing cream. Pork fat would be there too. Now, what stroke me at first place was the sight of The Body Shop shelvings and packaging behind the saleswoman who admitted the use of pork fat in her jars.

Don’t know whether, Anita Roddick alive,  it was already the case. Now that Eastwick is under L’Oréal rules… Anyway sounded weird to me. I’d think that TBS would only use plants, minerals and lab works (White Musk, one of my favourite odours. Given their firm stance against animal testing, I’ve always assumed they wouldn’t use animal ingredients.

Now, animal testing would embarrass me for sure. Still, I’m using more generalist cosmetics brands (for TBS still absent on Madagascar market. Wondering what do they do at Edelec Group?). Then, I would have used lipsticks, creams containing animal ingredients. TBS ??? another story. I would have never thought of this.

It’s without counting on TBS…. checked their website… to find that they use animal ingredients (!) but under strict conditions in sourcing, in respecting vegetarian lifestyle (not vegetalian’s however) and a list of animal ingredients that are used in TBS products.

Read their Animal Derived Ingredients Policy (ADI)… PDF file. Press on OK  when you’re invited to tell what they should do with the file. So enlightening ! Albeit…

Those ingredients are honey, beeswax, shellac, lanolin. Surprise!!! Our so-called pork fat is not enlisted. What about our famous pork fat, what about it bastard ? Yes, bastard because object of my desire (and dreams ?) when tinted in orange brick, fushia and coral shades…

Was this saleswoman wrong or wasn’t The Body Shop ADI file updated ?

Whatever, as a French say “All is good in a pig body”. I’d add that “Pork is everywhere”.

Comments
One Response to “Pork is everywhere… even in Mrs Roddick’s lotions jars ?”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] I was watching a documentary film on telly when, once again, I got taken for a ride. Definitely tied to my sofa, unable to switch from channel to channel. No wonder why, pork is everywhere, they say. Seems sooo right, I'd learn… Skipping pork meat sold packed in plastic film and sold in supermarkets or those big chunks still to be cut and weighed at market stalls. Found touching the little reminder on ham's role as one of our first solid foods … Read More […]



Leave a Reply

